Yesterday late morning I was coming back from a walk with my dog when I stumbled upon a nice neighbour of mine who was doing a garage sale. Among many other things he was selling, he had a few cardboard boxes with books lined up on his lawn. Books attract me like a magnet, so I had no choice to go and take a closer look! My neighbour told me he had read this book when he was much younger and claimed it had changed his life. I had heard about Dale Carnegie before, but I have never read any of his books (so far!) So I bought the book and read a few chapters this weekend.

Here’s a paragraph that I’d like to share:

“I want you to think of your life as an hourglass. You know there are thousands of grains of sand in the top of the hourglass; and they all pass slowly and evenly through the narrow neck in the middle. Nothing you or I could do would make more than one grain of sand pass through this narrow neck without impairing the hourglass. You and I and everyone else are like this hourglass. When we start in the morning, there are hundreds of tasks which we feel that we must accomplish that day, but if we do not take them one at a time and let them pass through the day slowly and evenly, as do the grains of sand passing through the narrow neck of the hourglass, then we are bound to break our own physical or mental structure.” (Reference: How to Stop Worrying and Start Living by Dale Carnegie)

True wisdom. I will try to remember this analogy every day of my life from now on.