Earlier this week I submitted my short story to the 2nd annual short story contest Des nouvelles de Gatineau! Last year I had also participated to the first contest and my story had been selected to be in the anthology, making it my first official publication (which was pretty exciting). This year’s contest has different guidelines than last year’s: the story must be set within one of Gatineau’s annual festivals. Pretty cool idea, huh?

The contest (open to the world’s entire francophone community) was officially launched in early March and the deadline is August 31st. This means writers have had five months to write their short story until now, leaving a couple more weeks before time is up. The $5 question: when did I start writing my story? Well… I’ve been toying with a few ideas back in late March… worked on it a little bit in June, but it’s really in July that I powered the afterburners to write it and finish it off.

I had a lot of fun writing this one. Can’t wait to see the results!