Although my story outline was clear in my mind at the beginning, I am hitting road bumps as I write my first short story this year. I can’t pinpoint accurately what is wrong with it, but there is definitely something stuck in the gears somewhere. It would be so easy at this point to simply put this unfinished story aside and begin working on another project. But I won’t do that. This particular story is haunting me, challenging me. Guess what: I like a good challenge. The more difficult it becomes, the more I like it.

In an attempt to resolve the issue, I took some time last week to write a short abbreviated outline of my story. This exercise forced me to make some adjustments. One significant change was to rewrite the beginning of the story. This made me realize one thing: if I don’t like the first 2-3 sentences of my story, in other words, if I don’t get ‘hooked’ myself, then the momentum doesn’t build up as I write further.

Stay tuned for my next post, I will no doubt have more to say about my current short story in progress.