Since my last post, I think I may have found what doesn’t work with the short story I am currently working on.

  1. I need to do research on a specific aspect of my storyline. If I don’t fully understand the basics of this particular aspect, my story won’t fly.
  2. I ‘m considering changing the setting (where the main action takes place) and also change one of the main characters. My initial idea will still work, and by making these changes I believe the ‘surprise effect ‘ at the end of the story will have a greater impact on the reader. Although my current draft is unfinished, I will be able to salvage a good chunk of if and reuse it in the revamped version of my story.
  3. I will update the abbreviated outline I wrote last week with my new ideas and I won’t begin work on the revamped story until I give myself the green light to go!

On a side note, within the last few months, I’ve been listening to author K.M. Weiland’s podcasts. They are awesome. If you haven’t done so already, I encourage you to visit her website Helping Writers Become Authors; it is filled with excellent information and tips on how to improve your craft. While I am stuck in my current predicament with my short story, I listened to her podcast “Sticking With a Story”. It reassured me. I want my story to start breathing again, so I will continue performing CPR on it!

The last part of her podcast struck me:
“Allowing our impatience, frustration, and artistic insecurities to convince us we’re wasting our time is far too tempting an escape. But don’t give in. Don’t abandon a story just because it isn’t working. Stories never work in the first draft. But if we’re willing to stick with a story and resist the urge to let go when the going gets tough, we’re likely to discover that we possess one of the most important traits of any artist: perseverance.”
Nicely said!